To Start With!

I wanted to do this blog, because I want to express to my friends, family, and any who just might be interested concerning my faith in Yeshua Messiah (know to most as Jesus Christ), and why I consider Him my main motivation in life.  Some may actually, believe it or not, benefit from my experiences and “wisdom”.

In a spiritual sense I sometimes feel like the blind man in John 9.  Because the Pharisees did not want to believe Yeshua, they were examining the miracle of Yeshua’s healing of the blind man to find fault with it.  The Pharisees told the blind man that they knew that Yeshua was a sinner.  (Joh 9:25 CJB) [The blind man answered], “Whether he’s a sinner or not I don’t know. One thing I do know: I was blind, now I see.”

Yehovah (KJV: the LORD) has opened my (spiritual) eyes, and for this I am eternally grateful.

Does this mean that I have any wisdom much greater than others?  I can assure you that is not so.  However, like any other believer I have my own gifts.  Some will benefit more than other from my thoughts (assuming any read my thoughts).  Even those much wiser than I could very well profit from my little wisdom, because a big object casts a big shadow, that is even very wise men have blind spots, and because of their wisdom they sometimes have trouble being convinced they have a blind spot.

I welcome comments from readers.  There is nothing I like better than a good argument.  However, any disagreement must be a friendly, and not become personal.  Also, I won’t allow someone to hijack my blog to pump out false doctrine or nonsense with their comments.  Be reasonable.

Of course no one can benefit from wisdom not said.  That “being said” we all need to be cautious how we say even the truth.

  • (Pro 15:2 CJB) The tongue of the wise presents knowledge well, but the mouth of a fool spews out folly.

Above all I want to help any with difficult questions or situations to respond to those question or situations within a scriptural framework.  One person I heard speak said that there was no worse insult than to accuse a man of being “objective”.  I agree with this statement.  We should never be objective, but subject everything to the light of scripture.

  • (Eph 2:20 CJB) You have been built on the foundation of the emissaries and the prophets, with the cornerstone being Yeshua the Messiah himself.
  • (Eph 2:11-16 CJB) Therefore, remember your former state: you Gentiles by birth — called the Uncircumcised by those who, merely because of an operation on their flesh, are called the Circumcised — at that time had no Messiah. You were estranged from the national life of Isra’el. You were foreigners to the covenants embodying God’s promise. You were in this world without hope and without God.  But now, you who were once far off have been brought near through the shedding of the Messiah’s blood.  For he himself is our shalom — he has made us both one and has broken down the m’chitzah which divided us by destroying in his own body the enmity occasioned by the Torah, with its commands set forth in the form of ordinances. He did this in order to create in union with himself from the two groups a single new humanity and thus make shalom, and in order to reconcile to God both in a single body by being executed on a stake as a criminal and thus in himself killing that enmity.
2 Comments on “To Start With!”

  1. Lin Kay says:

    I like this Herb, just wondering if your family was Jewish orthodox

    • herbb52 says:

      No, we are (Messianic) Jewish by faith, but not by linage. I myself am British and Irish (for the most part). My wife is French and German.

      I grew up in a small Presbyterian church and she grew up in an independent Baptist church. When we got married we joined an independent Baptist church, and have been in various independent Baptist churches (except for a small stint in a non-denomiational church, which was essentially the same theologically as an independent Baptist church) up until we moved to our Messianic synagogue.

      I had been searching for some time for a group answers to Biblical question, but couldn’t find any group that adequately answered my questions. I visited the Seventh Day Adventist church, but decided I was NOT a SDA. I looked into Seventh Day Baptist, but there were none nearby, and I couldn’t find adequate information on them.

      What caused me to search out my Messianic synagogue was when a man who went to the Baptist church game me a set of Michael Rood’s “The Prophecies in the Feast of the Lord: The Spring Feasts”, and I was hooked, because he answered my important questions.


Leave a Reply

